Michael R. Kolber – BSc MD CCFP MSc

Family Physician

Mike is a Professor in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Alberta. He practices in Peace River and belongs to the University of Alberta Department of Family Medicine’s Evidence Based Medicine group. Mike contributes to Tools for Practice, presents at the ACFP’s CPD Roadshows, and is the Planning Committee Chair for the Practical Evidence for Informed Practice conference.

Tony Nickonchuk – BSc Pharm

Clinical Pharmacist

Tony is a Drug Utilization and Stewardship pharmacist with Alberta Health Services (AHS). He performs evidence based reviews of drug therapy and uses those to advise the provincial Drug & Therapeutics Committee regarding the AHS formulary. He also initiates and manages projects to improve the cost effectiveness and evidence base of drug utilization within AHS. Tony is also a member of the Expert Committee for Drug Evaluation and Therapeutics for Alberta Health, advising on the inclusion of drugs in government sponsored drug plans.

Joey Ton BSc Pharm PharmD


Joey currently works as Program Manager for the Knowledge Experts and Tools Program at the College of Family Physicians of Canada and is part of the PEER team. In these roles, Joey is involved in managing programs that create education and clinical tools for family physicians across Canada.

Christina Korownyk – BSc MD CCFP

Family Physician

Tina is a Professor in the Department of Family Medicine at the University of Alberta and is the Director of the PEER Team. She practices family medicine at the Northeast Community Health Centre in Edmonton. She also regularly presents at many of the PEER conferences and contributes to Tools for Practice and medical podcasts.

The Alberta Pricing Document authors wish to acknowledge the excellent work of founding authors who due to other commitments are no longer actively participating in the project including:

  • G. Michael Allan MD CCFP, Family Physician
  • Jayson Lee BScPharm, Pharmacist